“No Pain, No Gain” Well, except for the people who are trying to sell you something for the pain part

pain

“No Pain, No Gain.”  is not something that you EVER hear from a person with chronic pain.

“Yes Pain, No Gain” sure.

Better yet, is the most accurate, “Yes Pain, Less Gain” because there is nothing to be gained from chronic pain.

Maybe I can turn this into a rap…

I have been having a really bad flare up for the last couple of days. I have only had about 4 or 5 hours of accumulative sleep in the last 3 days. I’m exhausted and irritable and just so tired of all the crap out there that tries to take advantage of people who suffer. Fibromyalgia is different from Lupus which is different from MS which is extremely different from arthritis.

Now don’t get me wrong, I greatly appreciate that there are people out there who want to help me feel better and offer up products that they swear by for their pain or maybe they happen to sell them and someone else told them that it would work for me. To all those people who just want to help I say:

Thank You

But for all those people who are just trying to make a buck… and believe me, pain is a BIG business. I myself have spent thousands of $$$ in the last year alone trying to find some kind of relief… To you people who are only about the money I say:

Fu@k You!

Part of the reason I am depressed right now is because there are so many, “Try this and the pain goes away FOREVER!!!”

Ok, just some education. Fibromyalgia has NO cure as of right now and it’s still not even completely understood. It is something that is being looked into but if you have it and someone tells you that you can be rid of your symptoms for good if you just do or take this, turn around and walk away. Take your money and use it for a spa day. Relaxing and De-stressing might end up helping more than a magic elixir.

I’m not saying that there isn’t anything out there that may help you find some relief, and there may be some genuine testimonies from people who really feel better now and just want to help you. My point is that when it comes to your pain and your money, you need to use some common sense. If something seems to good to be true it probably is and be aware that not all pain is the same.  When all is said and done, the stress of disappointment from a product that doesn’t work for you may actually make your symptoms worse.

Leave a Reply

